Regrets

As a parent we all have regrets. Buying that too noisy toy, buying white furniture, letting your 13 year old study debate…yep, we all have some regrets.

Recently I heard a story about a man holding a sign saying pro choice. When he was asked why he said that he has a disabled son and he hates him. Hate, in the Biblical term, means you wish something didn’t exist. It broke my heart. Here it is.

I have the choice, each and every moment, to choose to love or hate my children. It never occurred to me before that I could have chosen to hate them. I still can’t fathom it. My children, even when they drive me crazy, are a joy.

Do they know that?

This man’s son must know he is not loved. His father stands on a street corner with a sign because of it.

What kind of sign am I holding up for my children?

How do I speak of my children?

How do I encourage the?

How do I pull them down? Discourage them?

I know I will have regrets. May it never be that my children did not know they were loved.

 

 

About rollercoastermama

I am the wife to my knight, homeschooling mom to 6 fun and crazy kids and List Maker Queen. We have some ADHD, ODD, 22Q and other alphabet soup stuff going on. Sometimes I'd like the ride to slow down but I definitely love it and never want to get off!
This entry was posted in Family life, motherhood, parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Regrets

  1. Kevin Robinson says:

    OH MY GOODNESS!! That is unfathomable!! I can’t imagine hating your own kid so much that you hold a sign saying so in public! Yeah. Heartbreaking!

Leave a Reply

