The Great Myth

Yesterday was an easy parenting day for me. The weather here was BEAUTIFUL. I needed a beautiful day. We sat outside most of the day, littles playing with their cousin, older talking with me. We had recess most of the day. The kids fought much less because of the change of pace. I was more relaxed because of the vitamin D.

Parenting isn’t always that way. We are often told as Christians that God won’t give us more than we can handle. Let me tell you, that is a LIE.

Matthew 11: 28– “Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.”

God gives us what we need. And sometimes, all the time, what we need is to come to Him. To not forget our source of strength.

I have seen this played out in my own life. Years ago when Z was just 5 days old she ended up with and extremely high fever and a horrible rash. Sitting in the ER, watching the do a spinal tap on my tiny baby, being told she might die, I guarantee you it was not what I wanted, it was not easy. I had to walk out and have a good cry in the bathroom.

God did NOT give me what I could handle at that moment. If you told me God only gives us what we could handle it would not have been pretty. And it would not have been true.

What God did do is hold my husband and I up. He comforted us and sent others to comfort us. The team that came to transport her to the Children’s hospital was wonderful. The cardiologist SANG to her while he got her ready for transport. (More tears on my part at that moment, my heart was being ripped out.)

I prayed that day like I had never prayed before. I grew DEPENDENT on God. The Dr’s didn’t know what was wrong, they just knew it was bad. They were shooting in the dark.

God showed us his provision through people sending me care packages at the hospital, food, & money for meals. People coming up to pray with me and sit with me. Meals for my husband at home who was taking care of four small children so I could be at the hospital with our child.

None of it was what we could handle. It was HARD. HEART-WRENCHING. EXHAUSTING. I won’t give you all the details but God did teach us so much about Himself that week. He is FAITHFUL.

We had a happy ending to our story. After a week in the NICU, lots of meds., lots of testing, lots of scary moments, Z was well enough to go home as long as we were CPR trained. January 1 2007 2 007

CPR trained….

Not everyday parenting is easy but He is there everyday to help us, teach us and hold us up. We just need to remember to turn to Him. Sometime it is a big thing but sometimes it is only,

“Dear Lord, I am tired. The kids didn’t sleep well and neither did I.  I am cranky. Help me show them You today. Help me teach them good things. Give me strength and energy to parent well today. I love you. Amen”

About rollercoastermama

I am the wife to my knight, homeschooling mom to 6 fun and crazy kids and List Maker Queen. We have some ADHD, ODD, 22Q and other alphabet soup stuff going on. Sometimes I'd like the ride to slow down but I definitely love it and never want to get off!
This entry was posted in Family life, parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

