Greedy Mama

Our church is following a one year Bible reading plan. This is part of this weeks reading.

2 Corinthians 9:6-15New American Standard Bible (NASB)

6 Now this I say, he who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and he who sows [a]bountifully will also reap [b]bountifully. 7 Each one must do just as he has purposed in his heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver. 8 And God is able to make all grace abound to you, so that always having all sufficiency in everything, you may have an abundance for every good deed; 9 as it is written,

“He scattered abroad, he gave to the poor,
His righteousness [c]endures forever.”
10 Now He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed for sowing and increase the harvest of your righteousness; 11 you will be enriched in everything for all liberality, which through us is producing thanksgiving to God. 12 For the ministry of this service is not only fully supplying the needs of the [d]saints, but is also overflowing through many thanksgivings to God. 13 Because of the proof given by this ministry, they will glorify God for your obedience to your confession of the gospel of Christ and for the liberality of your [e]contribution to them and to all, 14 while they also, by prayer on your behalf, yearn for you because of the surpassing grace of God in you. 15 Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!

I am cheap. I look for a bargain any time I can. It has served us well in the sense that I grocery shop on a small amount, cloth the children on an even more crazy small amount and we live well. I don’t jip God, or so I often tell myself.

Here is the BUT.

We all jip God. When I read the above passage I read it from a mother’s perspective. I read ” Now this I say, He who sows sparingly into his child’s heart will also reap sparingly from his child’s heart, and he who sows bountifully into his child’s heart will reap bountifully from his child’s heart. Each one must do just as he has purposed in his heart, not grudgingly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” (Italics are my words).

I am not always a cheerful giver when it comes to sowing into my children’s lives. It is hard work! The fighting and bickering make me just want to yell for them all to stop. This is where I am tempted to be cheap. I am tempted to take the easy way out. If I were generous I would take the time to sit them down, find out what is going on, point them to what Jesus says and pray with them. I would GIVE of my time and my self-control to grow in them patience and self-control of their own.

I just shared with a friend this past weekend how I had grown so weary of the children’s bickering that I had yelled. Loudly. My neighbor’s are so kind they always say they have never heard me yell. They are kind. I don’t do it often, but when I do, well, I do.

All mama’s yell at some point, I think. If you don’t then I need to come learn from you!

The funny thing is, I reap what I sow. They yell and because I get cheap and I yell. I am working on being more “generous”. I am working on giving up “my” time to invest in them.

The same applies to time in His Word WITH my children. My “plan” is to do devotional time every weekday morning with the children but once again, I get cheap sometimes. I look at the cooking, cleaning and schooling I “need” to get done and think, “just today, we will all just do our personal reading time. Tomorrow we  will be caught up and read together and study again.” Just today turns into just this week sometimes, or even, just this month. Then I am not just being cheap with my kids, but with God!

Thankfully, He is patient, teaching us to sow better each day as long as we go to Him for lessons.

 

 

About rollercoastermama

I am the wife to my knight, homeschooling mom to 6 fun and crazy kids and List Maker Queen. We have some ADHD, ODD, 22Q and other alphabet soup stuff going on. Sometimes I'd like the ride to slow down but I definitely love it and never want to get off!
This entry was posted in education, Family life, motherhood, parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

